Thursday, December 1 2022
Reading time: 2 minutes

Five personalities from the world of sports and journalism will go through a rigorous judging process and read the five shortlisted books to find this year’s winner, who will be crowned on the 34e William Hill Sports Book of the Year at the official awards ceremony on 1st of December at the BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly, London.

Alyson Rudd will take on the role of Jury President for the William Hill Sports Book of The Year Award (WHSBOTY) for the fourth consecutive year. She is the author of two sports books: a biography of Matthew Harding, the former manager of Chelsea Football Club; and astroturf blonde, an account of her playing career in both men’s and women’s soccer teams. She is also an award-winning sports journalist at The Times.

Alongside Alyson will be a broadcaster, writer and journalist Mark Lawson. As well as being a reviewer and editor for The Guardian, Mark is a six-time author and recently completed his book The Judgments. He said becoming a WHSBOTY judge in 2016 was “the fulfillment of one of his greatest ambitions in the sport”.

Longest-serving member of the jury, sports presenter John Inverdale will participate in its 25e and final year as a judge. During his illustrious career as one of the nation’s premier sportscasters, John was named Broadcaster of the Year and Sports Broadcaster of the Year, among other accolades.

Non-executive member of Brighton and Hove Albion FC and President of Brighton & Hove Albion Women’s FC, Michael Walder, will join the jury for the first time this year. She said: “I am both delighted and honored to join the jury for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year this year.”

Former professional footballer Clarke Carlisle is no stranger to the Prize, his autobiography A footballer’s life reached the long list of 2014. Clarke’s thought-provoking BBC3 documentary, The secret of football suicide was shortlisted for the prestigious MIND Media Awards 2014, he was first a SBOTY judge in 2012.

Jury chair Alyson Rudd said: “As a jury, we have the almost impossible task of choosing the 34e Winner of the William Hill Sports Book of the Year. After a banner year for admissions, the standard has been set incredibly high.

“Each judge will bring their own expertise as well as lived experiences in sport and literature, and I look forward to presiding over what will be a highly contested panel meeting.”

34e The William Hill Sportsbook of the Year Award will be announced on 1st December at the BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly, London. The event will be streamed live beginning at 1:30 p.m. on the @BookiePrize Twitter feed. Read more about the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award here:


Banner Elk Chamber of Commerce Announces Updated Small Town Christmas Weekend Schedule | Community


Longtime Greenville Comic Book Store Moves, Quadrupling Its Space | Greenville Company

Check Also